Falling for the Fallen

14367071

Hello lovelies,

Hey everybunny, it’s Tuesday again and you know what that means…You don’t? Well it’s View and Review Tuesday and while I promise you that one day I will blog about Supernatural simply because it’s Tuesday, today is all about fallen angels, and wars, and hidden love-children. That’s right, we’re talking about Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush Hush series!

So my good friend and fellow book-obsessed junkie Alexa got me in to this series last year and I’ve read these books at least six times each. Basically, the story follows Nora Grey, who’s a perfection obsessed teenager that is just trying to make it through high school. When she meets the mysterious full package in Patch, her world turns inside-out, upside-down and all around insane. Now, while I don’t really want to give anything away, for any of you who haven’t read this series before, I apologize in advance because I might not be able to help myself.

I fell in love with these books because (within the reading community) I really am a closet romantic and these books have all the struggles that every first love relationship will go through…and so much more. I’ve always had a thing for fallen angels and I began to relate to Nora in ways that I didn’t think I would, not just because of Patch, but because of who she is as a person.

Nora was always that person who cared about school, what school she wanted to attend, her grades, writing for her school newspaper…you know, the extent of my high school life. When she met Patch (like when I met Taylor) those things almost took a back seat to the roller coaster ride that was her relationship.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that my relationship is anything like a fictional character’s (I’m a lot more boring), although that would be so cool, but I’m just saying, in terms of relating to the book, Hush Hush was right up my alley.

While I don’t remember all of my impressions, my views on the book haven’t really changed much. As far as teen fictions go, this book is geared towards (mostly) towards teenage girls. I wouldn’t recommend the series for anyone under the age of about 15, just because there are some underlying, subtle (and not so subtle) sexuality hints, as well as violence as the story progresses. Obviously, since the books are based around fallen angels, this series is (unfortunately) fiction, but it’s realistic fiction in the sense that it’s about a girl, with friends, in high school, in Maine, with a boyfriend, and a mom that isn’t exactly pro-Patch. Add in the “popular” girls, shopping, the best friend and breakfasts filled with steamed milk and you’ve got a regular school experience on your hands.

As for my thoughts on the book, I absolutely loved it. I never really wanted to wait for the next book in the series to come out so I was always stalking the internet for fan-fics, and leaked pages…I couldn’t get enough. While the books progressed pretty regularly and each character had adequate development, there were times where I wish I could get inside the head of different characters (but that’s just me). Now there were also times where I felt like Fitzpatrick  did put a little too much detail in places where it wasn’t needed (again, personal preference) but all in all, I would definitely read anything else that she decided to release.

All in all, as you may have imagined, I give the book five stars. For people like me who live their lives vicariously through fiction, this is the type of book that will take you into another world, where you never want to leave. When it ended, of course, I was sad, but it ended in a place where pretty much all strings were tied. There are definite plot twists in the books and for a person like me, that can usually predict where something is going, that was awesome. I would, and have, recommended this series to friends and right now, I’m recommending it to all of you. The box set is great as a gift, and for the record, yes, I am considering painting black feathers all over my bedroom walls (read the book to find out why).

If you have any questions about the books (yes, I was intentionally vague, go read it) feel free to leave a comment or message me. As always, like, comment, subscribe and share. I’ll be looking for you guys next time. I love you all!

Leave a Reply

