Seriously, Where Have I Been?!

Hey lovely duckies,

I know. I suck, I suck! So guys, a lot has happened since  I was last blogging (You know, in January) and while today is normally view and review Tuesday, I’ll probably get to that at the end. But here’s what’s been going on in the life of yours truly…

I broke my laptop!

It seems really hard to believe, since it seems like my laptop is always attached to my hip, but it’s true. Before the beginning of the Spring Semester, my laptop decided to take a dive off of my lap while I was watching the Lion King 2 (again). And. It Died. RIP to my Lenovo, which I loved (insert moment of silence here) anyway, about two weeks, or so, ago, I got my new Toshiba Satellite something or another and now that I’ve gotten most of my old programs on here and have remembered most of my old passwords, I’m back in business!

I lost my job!

Alas, since we last spoke, I am no longer working at my local newspaper “The County Times”. Although I absolutely loved and adored and worshiped that job, things were not going the way that they needed to, or the way that I expected them too, so I had to leave. I would never say anything bad about my old job, because it gave me some vital experience in the Journalism field and I am eternally grateful for that, but there were things that could have gone a lot better with the way the job was run, and in short, it was time for me to go.

I finished/started school!

Now, I’m not sure if I told you guys about finishing my first semester in college, I rocked so hard, but whether I did or not, I am now in my first spring semester (midterms are about to start) and I’m totally kicking butt. I’m not sure whether or not I’ll get straight A’s (science is a pain…) I’m doing my best and I’m sure that everything’s going to pay off. Speaking of pay, I feel really bad because I wanted to be able to pay for my college on my own, and not ask anyone for help. The thing is, since I left “The County Times”, I’ve been un-employed and have had to go to my family for help with my tuition. They’re totally awesome and have continually helped me out of binds over and over again, but the thing is, they shouldn’t have to, you know. I feel like I’ve been mooching off of my family my entire life and college was supposed to be the start of my being independent and beginning to make my way on my own. It just pisses me off that I haven’t been able to do a very good job of that.

I made friends!

Okay, so I’m being dramatic (again). But seriously though. I think I told you guys that I didn’t really have a lot of friends in high school (no one really understood my sarcasm/cynicism mix of emotion) but since I left high school everything’s been a lot better for me. Okay, so I was in the drama department of my high school and was totally in love with it. The awesome part about being a thespian is that you get to interact with people both on your level as well as older and younger than you, and as you interact with said people, you find out that you have more in common with them than just your love of the arts. One thing starts to lead to another and before you know it, you’re not spending everyday in your bed with your laptop blogging and watching YouTube videos in between hours of your wide collection of Disney movies that you will never grow out of.

I (re) fell in love with music!

So you guys may or may not know that my love of music knows no bounds. The thing is, since I haven’t had a laptop in a while, I’ve been forced to rely on various music stations on the radio and the television in order to maintain my addiction. As horrible as that may sound, I’ve found a place in my heart for everything from 80′ hits to country to show tunes to jazz to various instrumental tracks. I know what you’re thinking “But Kim, didn’t you already love that stuff?” Yes I did, imaginary other half of this conversation, but there’s so much more out there than what my little warped version of those types of music than what I previously thought. It’s gotten to the point where I’ll be listening to my music around other people and my comments range from, “you like that too?” to, “I know, I’m sorry”. It’s become, in a word, awesome.

I got a job!

So you know how you were reading about my loss of work situation approximately five minutes ago? Well, I wish it had only taken me that long to get a new job, but instead, it’s taken me about a month. I honestly have no idea what I used to do with all of my time before I had a job and didn’t have friends, because that’s A LOT of time that’s un accounted for. Anyway, as of last Thursday, I am currently employed at my local Dunkin Donuts, (which is awesome) and requires me to have a steady stream of coffee (which is even awesome-er) and as of today (like 4 hours ago) I am currently employed at my not-so-local Panera Bread. Cool, huh? So I’m about to have no life, once again, but I’ll be getting paid to have no life, which I can totally work with.

So everyone, those are my excuses for why I haven’t been around much lately. I’m sure you’ve all missed me insulting both all of you, as well as myself, and I’m sure that you’re all so happy that you get to waste about 10 minutes of your day reading the ramblings of a condescending 18 year old who’s just trying to find her way. Anyway, stay tuned for View and Review Tuesday. I promised you guys that it would be here, and it will be, (after I finish up my homework and write it) some time tonight.

Until then, remember that when life gives you lemons, go see a psychiatrist because “life” can’t “give” you anything. If you liked this post, remember to “like” it online. Also, comment, and subscribe to my blog. If you feel extremely generous, share it with your friends (then you can all laugh at me). Smile at someone today, even if it’s only your reflection in a mirror, and I’ll see you guys later. I love you guys, YAY! for long blog posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

